Share Your World 2014 – Week 23

share your world

This is the Share Your World Challenge. If you missed the last couple of weeks, more information can be found at Cee’s Photography. Essentially, four questions are asked every week and you have to answer them. Simple and fun!

Would your rather be stuck in a small plane with mild turbulence for 2 hours or be a passenger in a car racing the Daytona 500?

I’ve done the plane already, so I’d want to give the race car a try. The plane was a little scary. I went from Hopkins Belize to Belize City is a little four-seater plane. It wasn’t for two hours, but there was enough turbulence for me to be holding on white-knuckled. The whole fear of heights thing didn’t help either.

Would you rather be alone with nobody in the vicinity for one month or never be alone not even for a minute for one month?

I’d have to be alone. I’m a stereotypical introvert. Being around people sucks the life out of me, so I need my down time to recharge. A month can be a really long time to go without a chance to recharge!

Would you like to sleep in a human size nest in a tree or be snuggled in a burrowed spot underground?

Is it weird if I say burrowed underground? The tree sounds fabulous. You’d probably get a really nice view, but all I can think about is what great mosquito bait I’d make up there. There may be no view underground, but I’m a lot less likely to be eaten alive while I sleep. I’m have bad reactions to mosquito bites. Besides, who needs a view if you are there to sleep anyway.

In a car would you rather drive or be a passenger?

It depends. If I get shotgun, then I’d prefer to be a passenger. My husband usually drives, so I’m not as comfortable driving as I used to be. Also, I tend to get sleepy on long drives or early morning drives. If the back seat is my only option, I’d rather drive. I get motion sickness when I sit in the back. I need the big window in front of me I guess.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week: I got a nice reminder of why I do what I do. I haven’t been feeling very motivated at work lately. I feel like the effort I put in is unappreciated, but at the same time I feel like I should be doing more. It’s a twisted way of thinking. Anyway. I’m a Ph.D. student and I do a lot more then just work on my research project. I run the low vision clinic at the hospital. This is not for credit towards my Ph.D., nor do I get paid for doing it. It is just expected of me. So I had an appointment with a patient last week. She had macular degeneration. I spent an hour talking with her about her vision, putting her through all kinds of tests and explaining what they were for. She was so grateful that I made the time to hear her out and explain her vision to her. She even agreed to participate in one of the studies I’m having trouble recruiting for! (This is a big deal!!) All I really did was be friendly and listen, but it made her so happy. That made me feel good. After the appointment, I helped her down the stairs and got her a cab. She gave me a big hug goodbye. It’s people like her that I work so hard for.

This week: I’m looking forward to the weekend. It’s going to be really busy. Considering how down in the dumps I’ve been, I’m not sure if that’s a good idea, but it is what it is! Friday is my sister’s birthday, Saturday my sister in law and her boyfriend are coming over for a Kraft Dinner (don’t ask) and movie night and Sunday I’m shopping with a friend and doing a Father’s Day dinner. I hope I get some time for some doodling and a rest in there somewhere!

sight without vision

Don’t ask, I don’t know, it just happened.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cee Neuner
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 13:08:58

    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  2. NotAPunkRocker
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 17:15:43

    I’m kind of curious to see who gives the other answer to the alone/surrounded by peoplr question.

    Definitely not me!

    Reply

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

