Share Your World 2014 – Week 27

This is the Share Your World Challenge. If you missed the last couple of weeks, more information can be found at Cee’s Photography. Essentially, four questions are asked every week and you have to answer them. Simple and fun! (Thanks Cee!)

share your world

If you were the architect of one existing building, which building would you select?

I think I’ll stick to Canadian architecture, just to narrow it down. I saw so many beautiful old buildings in Japan and Ireland when I was in those places that I’d never be able to choose. I’d like to be known for something unique. The most obvious is the CN Tower in Toronto. An extremely tall building with a rotating restaurant and a glass floor, very cool. I don’t like like heights though. I could go for something more traditional, like the Chateau Frontenac in Quebec City. It’s a classic. There’s also Expo’67 right here in Montreal or the more modern Marilyn Monroe condos in Mississauga.

Since I’m indecisive, I’ll go with something both modern and classic, The Royal Ontario Museum (ROM). It’s a serious, classic stone building on one side and a party on the other. It’s hard to believe it’s all one building! I think it’s it’s neat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA ROM2

What is one of your favorite quotes?

“It’s not who I am underneath, but what I do that defines me.” – Batman (Batman Begins)

I have always thought actions speak louder than words, thoughts or feelings. No one knows who I am underneath, they don’t see it. It’s how I behave that matters. That, reflects who I am. It’s like a tree falling in the woods. If no one is there to witness it, how can you tell if it makes a sound? It’s nice to have kind thoughts, but it you don’t act on them, can you really be counted as kind?

What color do you feel most comfortable wearing?

Black. I know, boring. Black is slimming and lots of people wear it, so I blend in. It’s not my favourite colour, that would be some sort of pink or coral colour. That colour stands out a bit too much for my liking though.

What is something you learned in the last week?

I learned how to play The Sims and I am totally addicted. I love the designing people and designing houses parts. I’m hoping the obsession will wear off, it’s not a good idea to spend all my working time and free time on my computer or iPad.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last Week: Last week a friend of mine took me to see Cirque de Soleil. It was amazing!! Cirque de Soleil started in Montreal, but now travels all over and has permanent shows in Las Vegas. They usually have a theme and tell a story through circus acts. This year’s theme was steampunk, something I am very fond of. I don’t think I could pick a favourite act, the things these people are trained to do with their bodies is just remarkable!

This Week: My mother in law is coming home from her month long trip in Finland and France with Marrimekko gifts for my sister in laws and I. Marrimekko is a Finnish designer we all like very much. It’s hard to find the brand here. She has hinted that she got me a new tote bag. This is excellent as my current one is about to give out on me.

Famous Marrimekko poppy design

Famous Marrimekko poppy design

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cee Neuner
    Jul 08, 2014 @ 13:54:56

    Sounds like you have a fun active life. Thanks so much for sharing. I like all the architectural buildings you showed too. 🙂

    Reply

  2. NotAPunkRocker
    Jul 08, 2014 @ 15:42:53

    I miss The Sims, but my computer just can’t handle it anymore.

    Pink-coral sounds pretty! I also am fond of black, but I find if I wear too many dark colors I stick out more. Strange how that works, right?

    Reply

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

