Self-esteem Challenge: Day 5

This blog challenge was developed by betterthandarkchocolate.tumblr.com. If you missed the introduction or want to see a summary of all the questions, go here.

Day 5:
Something about the way you think that you like.
What’s your proudest accomplishment?

I like that I can see a situation from different angles. It causes some problems like anxiety or too much empathy, but I think it’s a good trait to have. I may not be able to walk in your shoes, but I can listen, understand and empathize more than the average person, I think. It keeps me prepared as well. By thinking about possible outcomes of a situation, I can hope for the best, but also be prepared for the worst. This enables me to react quickly and hopefully turn things around. I think the benefits outweigh the anxiety it causes in this case.

My proudest accomplishment is not what you would expect. Most would assume it would be my M.Sc. or one of my academic scholarships. My M.Sc. was a bad experience (another post, another time) and I’m thankful for my scholarships, but not really proud. The moment I really felt like a rockstar was after giving a one hour lecture at a rehab conference. It was my first talk at a conference and it is still my longest to date. It went really well! I kept my audience’s attention, they laughed at the jokes I threw in here and there and they stood up and clapped at the end. After the talk, a lot of people came to talk to me. They all had good things to say and I think I did well answering their questions. I felt like I knew my stuff and I deserved to be where I was, something I frequently doubt.

circle-zentangle1.jpg

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

