Share Your World 2014 – Week 28

share your world

This is the Share Your World Challenge. If you missed the last couple of weeks, more information can be found at Cee’s Photography. Essentially, four questions are asked every week and you have to answer them. Simple and fun! (Thanks Cee!)

Have you ever been a participant in a parade? What did you do?

Unless the elementary school Halloween parade where you show off your costume to the older grades counts then, no, I haven’t been in a parade. I do enjoy parades though, especially the marching bands and bag pipes. Parades are sort of a family thing. When we lived in Toronto, the Santa Claus parade was a big deal. We would either watch it on TV or have lunch at the Royal Ontario Museum and watch from the balcony of the restaurant. Since we’ve moved to Montreal, the St. Patrick’s Day parade has been an annual event. Every year, all of us meet at the same corner downtown to watch the parade. The group has grown over the years. I think we are over 20 now including the friends that join us.

If you were handed free opera tickets, would you go or sell them? Why?

I would do neither. I’ve never been to an opera. The closest I’ve been to an opera is the Phantom of Opera…which is not really an opera at all. I would give them to my supervisor. She loves opera. She has been very generous with me (took me to San Fransisco to celebrate finishing my comps), so it’s the least I could do for her.

Why did you start your blog?

I wanted somewhere that I could express what was going on in my head. So much of life is spent hiding how we really feel or what we are really thinking in order to fit in or do a job. I was hoping to meet people like myself who were coping with mental health issues. I thought being part of a community that understands what it’s like would help me and maybe I could help somebody else. I also wanted to make drawing part of my life again. Most of the people in real life don’t know how much I enjoy drawing. The few that know were actually really surprised.

What is your favorite tradition? (family tradition, church tradition, whatever)

I actually haven’t participated in my favourite family tradition in several years. I makes me really sad when I think about it, but when you want to make a relationship work, you have to compromise. It’s Christmas. For my family, Christmas starts Christmas Eve. The family gets together at my parents or my cousin’s place and we have a casual buffet, eat where ever you want type of dinner. Swedish meatballs, tortiere (Canadian meat pie) and various dessert squares are usually involved. I get to spend time with my younger cousins (which I miss so much) and give them their Christmas presents. Once everyone has left, our immediate family (favourite aunt included) reads “The Polar Express”. We were reading it long before the movie. My sister, hubby and I usually get to open one present each Christmas Eve…usually its new PJs!

Christmas morning starts early with coffee and stockings. After presents are finished we have muffins and fruit for breakfast. We make orange date muffins every year, they are to die for! The rest of the day involves relaxing and enjoying gifts while preparing turkey for dinner. Dinner is always the same; turkey, stuffing, peas, turnip, sweet potato, mashed potato, gracy and cranberry sauce. It’s usually pretty low key.

Since I’ve been with my husband, we’ve had to split Christmas between two families. His family is Finnish and they only celebrate Christmas Eve. So the Eve is spent with them and Christmas Day is with my family. I miss seeing my extended family and our Christmas Eve traditions, but hopefully, my husband’s Christmas will start to feel more homey and will fill that Christmas Eve gap I’ve been feeling.

doodlediary christmas

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last Week: The doctor I’m recruiting patients from was on vacation, so I didn’t have to spend my days looking for study participants. It’s looking pretty dismal, everyone is saying no. It just makes me feel more pathetic and defeated than usual.

This Week: That whole bone spicule protruding from my gums thing happened again. It’s annoying because it’s a constant ache, it scraps against my tongue and eating hurts. This time I didn’t bother with the dentist and the oral pathologist. They weren’t too worried about it when it happened last month. I just pulled the bone out myself. So I am looking forward to that healing and it never happening again. Since I grind my teeth when I sleep, it probably will happen again though. Apparently when you grind your teeth so much you start producing extra bone around your tooth sockets to make them stronger. Bits of bone (spurs) break off and are expelled my the gums. That’s where the bone is coming from.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cee Neuner
    Jul 15, 2014 @ 11:45:42

    Thanks so much for sharing with us this week. I enjoyed reading your answers.

    Reply

  2. suesconsideredtrifles
    Jul 15, 2014 @ 13:43:21

    Thank you for following Sue’s considered trifles, which is a WIP. My other blog Sue’s Trifles is my Blogging for Fun blog. Have you found the supportive community you mention in your post? Sue

    Reply

  3. suesconsideredtrifles
    Jul 16, 2014 @ 09:52:59

    I used to be shy. It can take a long time to grow out of it! Sue

    Reply

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

