Self-esteem Challenge: Day 6

This blog challenge was developed by betterthandarkchocolate.tumblr.com. If you missed the introduction or want to see a summary of all the questions, go here.

Day 6:
Something about the way you just are that you like.
What are some obstacles that are preventing you from accomplishing your goals? What will you do to overcome them?

Something about the way I just am? I really don’t know. Does this mean it has to fall outside of the way I look, my personality and the way I think, because those were covered by previous questions? What does that leave? My organs? I like my heart. It has a good rhythm and helps provide oxygen to the rest of my body.

The hurdle I’m trying to overcome at the moment is my lack of motivation. If I have things organized step by step and laid out in front of me, like this challenge, I can get myself to do it, but when things are unstructured, like making drawings to go with my posts, work or exercise, it’s really hard. Everything just takes sooo much effort and I don’t get anything good out of it in the end. So I’m spending energy I don’t have and still feeling like crap. Why bother? I know there are long term benefits to doing these things, but it seems like I keep at it and never seen the benefits. I need a more short term reward….and it can’t be food!

NopeII

I tried to give my life more structure, hoping that would inspire some motivation. I was planning my meals, getting up early to run and then going to work. That lasted for about a month. Life threw a wrench in my plan and it fell apart. I’m thinking maybe I should try again, but I’ve been saying that for about a weeks now. I decided I’d try the Insanity workout again. I’m hoping it will give me a bit more pep. I’m two days in and I can barely walk. It’s a good kind of pain though. Here’s hoping I can stick to it!

For those of you who don’t know Insanity, you can check it out here. It’s always a good workout, no matter your fitness level.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hayley
    Jul 16, 2014 @ 09:24:01

    Wow the insanity workout really does look insane lol! Hope it helps you get your motivation back =)

    Reply

  2. suesconsideredtrifles
    Jul 16, 2014 @ 09:50:33

    Having goals is great. The challenge seems to be keeping the goals realistic. It is better to set easier goals or longer time-scales for them than to try do do everything in a short space of time and become overloaded and exhausted. It is a question of pacing ourselves. Some people do this naturally. The rest of us probably learn the hard way! Sue

    Reply

    • somberscribbler
      Jul 16, 2014 @ 09:53:21

      Yes, I am someone who learns the hard way. My problem is that if I don’t see progress, I get down on myself and give up. This is why I am doing insanity again. I’ll get some progress quickly. Now if only I could find an insanity program for work…..

      Reply

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

