Coffee Quandaries

I like these “If we were having coffee…” and “Friday Fragments” features that a lot of people in my reader are doing these days. They are both kind of the same idea. You talk about the things that have been going on in life and in your head, but have been too short to write a whole blog post about. I’m going to go with the coffee idea since I’m basically a java junkie. So….

If we were having coffee….you’d see that I’m in long pants, socks and a sweaters….yes, I meant for that to be a plural. It hasn’t felt much like summer this week.

If we were having coffee I’d tell you that I feel like I’ve been hit by a brick wall. This fatigued feeling came over me last night and I haven’t been able to shake it. Hubby had the flu earlier this week, so it could be that, but I’m not stuffed up like he was, so I think it’s depression-related.

If we were having coffee I’d be complaining about my burnt mouth. I ate something that was too hot when I was out with my friend for lunch and burned the roof of my mouth really badly. It blistered and it’s all sore and raw-feeling now. The coffee isn’t exactly helping, but coffee is just so comforting and I need that right now.

If we were having coffee, I’d ask how you are and about your week before turning the conversation to something else. You see, I have a quandry I’d really like an opinion on…..How do you know when you should keep pushing yourself versus when it’s time to take a step back? How do you know if you are pushing yourself hard enough? I don’t know the answers to these questions but, I don’t want to be accused of being weak or not trying hard enough, so I just keep on pushing. Work through the pain. There are limits though, the problem is they are invisible to me and I don’t know I’ve reached them until I’ve crossed them.

Like my cross-country running days for instance. Sometimes when you run you get that awful pain in your side, I call it a stitch. It hurts a lot, but that is something you run and breathe though. While I was training, I started to get a pain in my heel. I thought I was being a wimp, like with the stitch, so I ran despite the pain. Eventually, it hurt so much I couldn’t put any weight on it without wanting to scream. I had to stop training cross-country. I had plantar’s fasciitis. Today, it still flares up if I do a lot of running. I keep wondering if I had stopped sooner would I have prevented this? Would I have avoided the pain? Would I still be running now?

The same sort of thing applies to life. Do I push until I have a complete break down? That’s the only instance I can think of where I would know that I have pushed hard enough and it’s time to step back.

If we were having coffee, I’d ask you to tell me what you think because I’m hurting and I’m feeling kind of lost right now.

 

must stay positive

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NotAPunkRocker
    Aug 17, 2014 @ 12:58:59

    Are the limits that you don’t see until you have pushed past them yours or the other persons?

    If yours, then you don’t wait. You get help now. Unlike the running analogy, you can’t just get surgery or an ace bandage and be ok after a while. This takes more and the risk is much more dangerous than a hurt ankle.

    Sorry to be blunt, but I just worry…I am glad you see your therapist soon, but don’t forget to call your doctor if you need anything before then.

    ((hugs))

    Reply

  2. Green Embers
    Aug 17, 2014 @ 13:06:59

    Oh that is hard. With physical exercise it is a little easier to tell, you feel pain, but when it is mental? Hmm… I really don’t know. I usually keep doing an activity until I start to get confused by it and then I take some time away.

    Reply

  3. Hayley
    Aug 17, 2014 @ 17:13:50

    I wish I had the answer, I’ve been thinking about this myself recently. Its harder to tell when it is to do with mental health. I agree with Sheena, if you are in doubt whether to get help or not then definitely get help. Maybe your therapist or doctor can offer some advice on how to know if you are pushing yourself too hard? If not I would just go with your gut instinct.

    Take care,
    Hayley x

    Reply

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

