A Very Lego Summer: NYC Edition

It looks like Hubby’s Lego craze is continuing. If you missed the beginning of the Lego saga, read this post. There have been new additions to his Lego city and we did everything Lego in NYC. By everything Lego, I mean we saw the Rockefeller Lego Store, we saw the Lego exhibits at FAO Schwartz and the Times Square ToysRus. Below is the Rockafeller Center complete with Batman watching over the area.

DSC_0078DSC_0077

There was even…wait for it…..a Lego art exhibit! I’m not kidding! It was actually a really great exhibit. It’s called The Art of the Brick. It’s a combination of original pieces and Lego replicas of famous works. I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who may go see it, but I’ll post my favourite piece here, Van Gogh’s Starry Night. Van Gogh is a favourite of mine.

DSC_0197 DSC_0201

We found out we could save over $50 on Creator sets if we bought them while in the US. He decided he had to get the movie theatre next. The NYC Lego store however, was severely lacking, they didn’t have it! So he got the Parisian Cafe instead. We passed another Lego store in a Mall on the way home. That one had the Movie Theatre, so now there are two new Lego sets! Am I crazy to be letting him get this stuff? It’s taking over my kitchen table! I figure as long as it’s his “fun money” he is spending and he’s enjoying it, it’s ok. I decided to jump on the Lego band wagon too….I found myself a Unikitty keychain. Ridiculous, I know, but I really like Unikitty.

2014-08-15 10.11.18

We’ve been home a few days now and both Lego sets have been built. The Cafe took him an entire day to build. Here is the movie theatre. It was modeled after the famous Asian-looking theatre in Hollywood. I love the roof. The details are amazing. It even comes with a walk of fame and a limo.

The Cafe was more complicated. It had indoor and outdoor seating as well as the kitchen. The 2nd floor was an apartment with an artist’s loft on the top floor.

And now, here is Hubby’s little Lego town; a Pet Shop, a townhouse, Two Apartments, a movie Theatre, A Cafe and artist’s Loft and a house int he back.

2014-08-15 10.30.05

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tempest Rose
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 13:47:19

    This is so awesome. I can’t even figure out how to put my son’s lego firetruck together. Haha

    Reply

  2. NotAPunkRocker
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 13:58:04

    Oh, how cool is all of this! Awesome, even 🙂

    Reply

  3. Natalie Zaman
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 15:56:31

    Fabulous! I am RIGHT NEAR NYC–let me know next time you are in town! Also ♥♥♥ Unikitty (have the same keychain!)

    Reply

  4. christy barongan
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 14:59:21

    I went to Legoland this summer with my niece and absolutely loved the mini-cities! I could have stayed there for hours.

    Reply

    • somberscribbler
      Aug 20, 2014 @ 15:59:35

      I remember reading about your Legoland trip. I’m envious! I haven’t been there since I was a kid. I bet the place has had a huge makeover since. Hopefully I’ll get to take my nieces when they get older 🙂

      Reply

  5. Holistic Wayfarer
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 09:59:02

    I’m from NYC. These are amazing.

    Reply

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

