Unikitty Takes Lego Town!!

I think Unikitty is great. I like Lego, unicorns and cats, so of course I would appreciate all three things wrapped up in one tiny pink entity! I can also relate to the Unikitty character from the movie. She constantly tries to stay calm and positive no matter what is going on around her or in her head. Sometimes this gets to be a bit much and her emotions get away from her resulting in an explosive reaction. Although Unikitty is a bit more extreme, that is definitely me most of the time!

My husband thinks Unikitty is completely ridiculous, which I have no argument for. This fact just makes me like her even more! So I was quite pleased, thanks to my sister and much to my husband’s dismay, that Unikitty joined our growing Lego town last week! While Hubby wasn’t looking, Unikitty took Lego town by storm! All the inhabitants of Lego town flocked to the Chinese Theatre to see her, haha. Hubby was not pleased.

Lego town has grown quite a bit since the last time I posted about it. Before this Lego craze started, Hubby promised to dismantle his creations when they started to take up too much space. Both of us can no longer sit at the dining table with Lego town. I miss my table, but I haven’t the heart to ask him to put it away yet. It makes him so happy and it is pretty neat!

The Grand Emporium is the most recent addition. It’s a three story, modular corner piece built to be a department store. The details are fun….. a revolving door, billboards, escalators, a cashier, a window washer and a changing room that includes a minifig trying on a pair of pants. There is even an intricate chandelier on the third floor. So far, it keeps going all Phantom of the Opera on us.

The Emporium has some extra space in it, so Hubby stuck the Research set he got from my sister in there. The Research set is awesome! Lego was receiving complaints that all the minifigs coming with sets were male, so this set is all female. It was designed by a fan and was so well received that Lego decided to manufacture and market it. It comes with three scientists (a chemist, an astronomer and a paleontologist) and their associated equipment.

If anyone out there is following these Lego sets, then you’ll know the Grand Emporium is a recently retired set and is REALLY hard to find for a reasonable price. When I say retired, I don’t mean it goes back into the Disney vault kind of retired. I mean done. As in vintage set, never to be manufactured again. At least that what Lego is doing so far. I searched everywhere for this set. My aunt actually found it for me. A friend of hers had just started working at this random toy store and they happened to have it. Upon seeing this toy store, I couldn’t figure out how they stayed open. It was hidden in some industrial area and there were no signs. I never would have come across it if it weren’t for my aunt.

As it turns out, luck was really on my side…or maybe Hubby’s side, because when I went to the store to get the Emporium, I found another retired set for regular price. Whoohoo! It was the Apple Tree House, a cute little cottage set with a yard. On top of all this, my folks got him the kid’s Treehouse.

I think it’s suffice to say Hubby was spoiled rotten this holiday season! So the least he can do is let Unikitty into his Lego town!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NotAPunkRocker
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 20:48:59

    Love it all!

    Ebay is the place to go for retired, but yeah still the prices are crazy!

    I finally broke down and got the Lego Friends (yeah, I know, they aren’t the same) house for Pigpool and friends…just for them to come out with a cooler house for 2015. I gotta draw the line somewhere, so minifigs only for a while 🙂

    Reply

    • somberscribbler
      Jan 02, 2015 @ 21:29:29

      Did you get the house with the pink trim, or the yellow beach house? I just don’t like how the friends buildings are scaled for the bigger figures. Lego Friends has slides, twisty staircases and awesome colours that the other sets don’t have though!

      The new set of minifigs looks fun! Will you collect those? I’m liking the disco roller girl, the hotdog, the unicorn and the samurai chick!!

      Reply

      • NotAPunkRocker
        Jan 05, 2015 @ 15:48:38

        I am not as enamoured with the new minifigs as the last set, but I plan on getting some of them. I am at the point where I have to figure out am I collecting these for collecting, or just to have the ones I really like. If it’s the second situation, then I want unicorn, hotdog, the king and maybe the paleontologist, but that’s about it. For now at least LOL

        I got the yellow and pink “Olivia’s House” from the Friends set. now they have a cool blue one called “Emma’s House” but I can’t do it…just wish I had waited a little bit longer! 🙂

  2. weebluebirdie
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 04:38:38

    Fabulous. Who needs a dining table anyway:-) Do you follow a set design for the buildings or do your own architecture? Lego is brilliant stuff. The Kid and I spent hours on our creations too. Never had anything like this though!!! 😀

    Reply

    • somberscribbler
      Jan 03, 2015 @ 10:24:38

      So far these are “Creator” sets Hubby has gotten. They come with instructions on how to build. He is working on his own design using the Lego “digital designer” online. You should try it…a lot of fun! He’s designing Tim Hortons, Canada’s famous coffee and donuts joint. We’ll have to track down the right pieces to build with once his design is finished.

      Reply

  3. suesconsideredtrifles
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 04:57:06

    To think I told a grandson that adults don’t play with Lego! Suesconsideredtrifles I

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Lego Town Population Boom | Somber Scribbler

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

