Share Your World 2015 – Week 1

This post starts off a new year of “Share Your World” hosted by Cee’s Photography. I joined in part way through last year. Let’s see if I can do the whole year this time! Thanks to Cee for her creative questions every week.

How do you get rid of pesky phone calls from telemarketers?

I ignore them. Caller ID is a wonderful thing! They usually come from area codes I don’t recognize or are using some derivative of my own phone number, so they are easy to recognize. I know there is a chance I could be missing a real call, but I figure if it’s important, they’ll leave a message.

What are you a “natural” at doing?

I’m not sure. Creating clutter perhaps. I am never able to finish a project in one sitting. When I get interrupted, I pile what I’m using (ex. scrapbook stuff) off to the side so I can get back to it easily. But then, I have trouble getting back to it. For instance, work stuff will come up and I’ll have to get all my research junk out….but then I’ll need to take a break. So I pile up the research stuff to get out a sketchbook to doodle in. Then, I go back to the research, but leave the drawing supplies in a pile ready for my next break. So you see, it starts to build up. Eventually it becomes distracting and I give up and put it all away.

How often do you get a haircut?

I get a cut about three times a year. I have long hair, so I can get away with that. Split ends are annoying, but I’ve stopped blow drying my hair. Air drying keeps the ends much nicer for a longer period of time. Here is Lego me with Lego Hubby at the Lego Town coffee shop! (Yes, he bought himself another creator set!) My hair is pretty much like that, maybe not so orange, but you get the idea.

2015-01-05 20.29.00

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you hear the word “fun”?

There are two things that come to mind right away and they are polar opposites!

The first is something calming and artsy. I love to sit on the floor at my coffee table with my art supplies surrounding me and just getting lost in it all. Last year, I was usually drawing. So far this year, I’m playing around with mixed media. Here’s an art journal entry to give you an idea.

2015-01-05 20.31.06

Art Journal entry – watercolour, watercolour pencil crayons, gel pens, sharpie

 

The second thing is an adventure. For example, caving with Hubby. Inside the caves we climbed up waterfalls and jumped off them. I was scared out of my wits, but it was exhilarating! It was on our honeymoon in Belize. You can read more about caving and other Belize adventures here.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last Week: I am grateful that Hubby and I were both off work and got to spend some time together. We both got the flu, but at least we got time to hang out.

This Week: I am looking forward to hearing from the psyc program I am working with. I’m supposed to be starting group therapy as well as returning to individual therapy.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. weebluebirdie
    Jan 06, 2015 @ 04:16:13

    I think I’m with you on the clutter thing :-(( Oh, to have a room just for Doing Stuff!! I usually end up with everything scattered over the coffee table and at my feet. At weekends I use the kitchen table because then I can leave it for a bit. I hope you have a kitchen table – with your dining table being out of commission!!

    Reply

    • somberscribbler
      Jan 06, 2015 @ 09:05:13

      It’s a dream of mine to have a craft room some day! Unfortunately, there is no kitchen table. We have a very small apartment. Our kitchen is no more than a nook, so it’s the Lego table and coffee and the floor. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Cee Neuner
    Jan 06, 2015 @ 12:26:56

    Thanks so much for sharing this week. I liked your responses.

    Reply

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

