If We Were Having Coffee…..

If we were having coffee it would be at Tim Hortons this week. It has been a while and I am in the mood for something Canadian (even though Timmies is now American-owned). Have you been to Tim Hortons before? I’m pretty sure every Canadian has and maybe some Americans. There is one in Times Square NYC after all! I even stumbled across one that was part of a corner store in Ireland. I’m sure that’s a rare occurrence! I’d have a black coffee and a couple Timbits. I’m sure you’d probably have something fancier….a latte and a red velvet muffin perhaps? Someone told me no profit is made from Timbits, so they are actually getting rid of the iconic treat! Have you heard that? Is it true? It’s a little sad if it is.

https://i1.wp.com/www.thestar.com/content/dam/thestar/business/2009/09/23/harper_says_his_tax_policy_helped_repatriate_the_timbit/coffee_andtimbit.jpeg.size.xxlarge.letterbox.jpeg

If we were having coffee, I’d ask how you were feeling, what was new and how you were handling the cold. This week has been very chilly and icy! I’m thankful for four-wheel drive.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you I’ve been on edge this week. I’m not over the edge yet, so that’s good. I sorted out the corrections for the manuscript I mentioned last week. It’s going to be a bit of a grunt, but not nearly as bad as I thought. I went in to work on Wednesday to have a meeting about it and it went better than anticipated. I was expecting to be ambushed about the manuscript, my hours, my workload, sick leave and my mental health status, but I wasn’t. It seems everyone is too busy dealing with other, more pressing dramas to worry about me. It is unfortunate for them, but I am relieved.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you I saw my psychiatrist for the first time this year. It went well, I didn’t cry. πŸ™‚ I had to explain what art journaling was to him. He liked the idea of it and thought it would help me a lot, especially the 2015 Art Project. He told me to keep up with these art journaling workshops until the local clinic can get me into group Dialectical Behaviour Therapy and one-on-one counseling.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that last night, Hubby went for an information session for teaching in the Canadian North. High school enrollment is dropping next year and it is likely that there wont be enough students for Hubby to have a teaching position come September. In fact, there is supposed to be a surplus of teachers throughout all of Ontario and Quebec. This is why Hubby will be applying to school boards in Northern Quebec and the Canadian Territories. This is kind of a scary prospect, but there is no sense in worrying now. We wont know what the real situation is until the spring.

If we were having coffee, I’d let you know about 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion. This growing group was formed in response to the tragic events that have been unfolding in the news lately. The group is made up of bloggers from all over the world who, on February 20th, will speak out against cruelty, violence and selfishness by posting about the value of compassion. I encourage you to join in. You can write a post about what compassion means to you or tell a story about how compassion has touched your life. It could even be a quote or a photo depicting the value of compassion and kindness. To learn more, visit the Facebook group or check out #1000speak on Twitter.

Freely Shareable Image by Katie Paul

That pretty much sums up the highlight reel for this week. I hope you’ve enjoyed our coffee time! πŸ™‚ Until next week!

(This conversational coffee post is part of a weekend link-up hosted by Part-Time Monster. Join in the fun!)

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Awi
    Jan 17, 2015 @ 11:53:44

    Enjoyed our coffee chat this morning but sure missed the Timbits! Say its not so that they are going.

    Reply

  2. The Chaos Realm
    Jan 17, 2015 @ 12:32:17

    Going to post mine tomorrow..and just FYI I wrote mine last week. Any similarity is purely accidental *laugh*

    Reply

  3. Robin Rivera
    Jan 17, 2015 @ 13:53:17

    Thanks for sharing your week. I hope everything works out for you and your family.

    Reply

  4. Gene'O
    Jan 17, 2015 @ 14:00:39

    Never been to Tom Horton’s, nor heard the word Timbit. They look like what we call doughnut holes in my neck of the woods.

    I found you through a link at The Blind Flight & notice you have last week’s post linked here. If you found that you couldn’t add your link this week, Try this one

    https://parttimemonster.wordpress.com/2015/01/17/weekend-coffee-share-2/

    I hope that manuscript situation continues to go well.

    I also tweeted a link to #WeekendCoffeeShare for you, since I was already here and all πŸ˜‰

    Reply

    • somberscribbler
      Jan 17, 2015 @ 14:55:11

      Timbits basically are donut holes, they just have a fun name. I did the link up. I was out when I posted this morning and I was having trouble with the linky business on my phone. So much easier now that I’m on my laptop πŸ™‚
      Thanks for the RT!

      Reply

  5. Diana
    Jan 17, 2015 @ 16:59:07

    Haven’t heard of Timbits either, but I have heard of Tim Hortons! Sounds like you’ve had a helluva week!

    Reply

  6. Rebecca Bradley
    Jan 18, 2015 @ 03:33:41

    I haven’t heard of either the place or the little eaty thing, but it looks gorgeous. I do have a bit of a sweet tooth though.

    The art journalling sounds great. I’ve heard good things about it, that it’s very soothing as you work on it. I hope it keeps going well for you.

    Reply

  7. The Chaos Realm
    Jan 18, 2015 @ 11:08:43

    Okay, so I hope I did it right! Added the link through the blue button and shared on FB and Twitter…https://achaosfairyrealm.wordpress.com/2015/01/17/virtual-coffee-klatschkaffeeklatsch/

    Reply

  8. Christy Barongan
    Jan 23, 2015 @ 11:36:58

    I love Tim Horton’s!

    Reply

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

