Share Your World 2015 – Week 4

It has been a really rough week. I had a lot to get done this week and got none of it done thanks to contracting the most recent stomach plague. I’m still feeling rather dreadful, but things must get done. I’m thankful to have Cee’s Share Your World questions this week to warm up my brain and get it back in working mode.

Where did you live at age five?ย  Is it the same place or town you live now?

I lived in the same home in west end of Toronto from the time I was born until I was 17. It was a cute little red brick bungalow that my sister and I named Red Willow. It had a huge backyard with a willow tree, hence the name.

You are invited to a party that will be attended by many fascinating people you never met.ย  Would you attend this party if you were to go by yourself?

I’m not a big fan of parties and large groups of people. Normally, if I felt some sort of obligation, like networking for work or something, I would go. In my current state of mind however, I’d probably ignore the obligated feeling and not go.

Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it?

I grew up in the suburbs of a big town. I liked it. I enjoyed the variety of things to do and see. I lived there for 17 years, but there was always a new neighbourhood to discover. I also really enjoyed the anonymity, that comes with being part of a big town. I could go out and be totally invisible sometimes. If I didn’t feel well, but had to go out and get things done, I knew I could still handle it. I knew I wouldn’t have to smile the whole time and have conversations. I could just run my errands and go home. For an introvert with depression, this is a true blessing. Now that hubby and I are talking about moving north….I’m wondering how I would cope in a small town.

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

As a kid I wanted to be Anne of Green Gables when I grew up. I knew I couldn’t exactly be her, so I settled on wanting to be a teacher and a writer, just like her. That was the phase that lasted the longest. I also remember wanting to be an animator for Disney, a forensic scientist, an optometrist and a pathologist at some point or another. I also remember saying that I never wanted to do research. Now that I am grown up, I am a research scientist. Funny how life works huh? I wonder what happened to that Anne girl…..

Anne-of-Avonlea-anne-of-green-gables-4283842-720-480

Bonus question: ย What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week: I am just grateful for getting through last week.

This week: I am looking forward to being able to eat solid food again.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. suesconsideredtrifles
    Jan 29, 2015 @ 09:46:38

    Anne of Green Gables is a good role model! Hope you’re feeling much better soon. Sue

    Reply

  2. Mental Mama
    Jan 29, 2015 @ 10:16:23

    I’d rather have an upper respiratory infection of any variety over the stomach flu any day. I hope you feel better soon!

    Reply

    • somberscribbler
      Jan 29, 2015 @ 15:03:20

      haha. I was actually wondering wish I would rather earlier today…the real flu or the stomach flu. I think the real flu wins hands down.

      Reply

      • Mental Mama
        Jan 29, 2015 @ 16:04:31

        I have so many tummy issues on good days that having to deal with that mess on top of the aches and crud that come with stomach flu is really just too much.

      • somberscribbler
        Jan 29, 2015 @ 16:15:53

        I agree! Its the nausea that gets me…can’t eat, can’t sleep, can’t think..ugh.

      • Mental Mama
        Jan 29, 2015 @ 16:20:44

        And there’s nothing worse than stomach flu that exits both directions at the same time, which is inevitably what always happens to me. Ugh is right.

      • somberscribbler
        Jan 29, 2015 @ 16:31:55

        That I haven’t had *knocks on wood*, it’s dangerous. You can get dehydrated really fast! I’ve just been throwing up…..a lot. I think I pulled some muscles too, lol

      • Mental Mama
        Jan 29, 2015 @ 16:36:21

        That’s no good. I tend to go with Gatorade when I get sick like that, it’s about the only liquid I can keep down, but it has to be the original “yellow” lemon-lime flavor. All of the other flavors are icky. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • somberscribbler
        Jan 29, 2015 @ 16:42:51

        I’ll give that a shot. I’ve never tried gatorade…can you believe it?! I usually like lemon-lime. All I’ve had so far is water and it’s getting boring….fast.

      • Mental Mama
        Jan 29, 2015 @ 18:16:21

        The bonus with the Gatorade is that it has some electrolytes and stuff in it that helps rehydrate you a little better than just water. I’ve had a few spells during my years when I practically lived on that stuff and saltine crackers.

  3. stuckinscared
    Jan 29, 2015 @ 11:01:34

    What a fab idea, I enjoyed your contribution ๐Ÿ™‚

    Do you have to join in every week to take part, or can you just jump in and out when able to?

    I hope you feel better soon ๐Ÿ™‚

    Take care, Kimmie x

    Reply

    • somberscribbler
      Jan 29, 2015 @ 15:01:39

      You can jump in and participate whenever you like! It’s kinda nice to have when you can’t think of anything or in my case, if you are too sick and your brain has turned to mush, haha. Cee releases new questions every Monday

      Reply

      • stuckinscared
        Jan 29, 2015 @ 16:00:02

        Cool, thanks for getting back to me….I agree, perfect for the brainmush days ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  4. Cee Neuner
    Jan 29, 2015 @ 12:17:01

    I hope your week perks up a bit. Thanks ever so much for taking some time out to share with us. Get feeling better soon!

    Reply

  5. NotAPunkRocker
    Jan 29, 2015 @ 16:53:04

    Anne of Green Gables was my nemesis, as a redhead. The scene with Gilbert and the inkwell at school, everyone would look at me and snicker.

    I do like that answer though (just not for me!)

    Reply

  6. Deb
    Jan 29, 2015 @ 18:02:01

    Hope you get to feeling better very soon!! Hate being sick. I’ve been lucky so far this year. Maybe this cocoon I’ve made for myself is working out for me (?). Get well soon!

    Reply

  7. The Chaos Realm
    Jan 31, 2015 @ 18:46:08

    <—still an Anne of Green Gables fan LOL

    Reply

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

