DLP4: Friendship

The Original Documented Life Project – Journal (2015)
For more details on this week’s challenge, visit the gals at Art to the 5th.

Week 4:
Art Challenge – Writing
Prompt – Words with friends

It was nice to be able to think about my friends this week. Being an introvert, I don’t have huge amounts of friends. Also, I do best one-on-one. None of them really know each other. My friends are forever friends. It doesn’t matter how far apart we are or how long it’s been since we’ve seen each other. We just pick up right where we left off, like nothing has changed. It’s really great. This was my line of thinking for my art journal page this week. Also, I had just gotten the Steampunk set of gelatos and wanted to go with a time theme.

2015-02-02 08.54.20

I started with a white gesso background. Gelatos move around your surface better when it is gesso’d. I scribbled the gelatos on and left them dry. I smudged them all over the page with my finger. I don’t recommend this, my finger was kind of sore afterwards.

2015-01-31 07.41.52

I added some steampunk washi tape. One of them was gears and the other clocks. I also added a magazine cut out of a friendship tattoo. I stenciled some gears in using a MIX-ables stencil and brown acrylic paint.

2015-02-02 08.54.55

This spread was a lesson in layering. I used distressed ink from Tim Holtz to stamp in some gears and clocks which just smudged off, even after drying. Note to self: Ink and gesso don’t work together. I later found out gesso is used as a resist when working with distress inks…woops. To remedy this, I painted the whole spread with gel medium, dried it and tried stamping again. This time the ink took.

2015-02-02 08.55.08

The challenge was to use writing, so I wrote a couple sentences on what I thought true friendship was about. I wanted the words to be in elongated cursive. This didn’t work out very well. My handwriting is naturally quite backhand, so trying to stretch it out was difficult. I used a Fude pen for this.

2015-02-02 08.54.302015-02-02 08.56.13

At this point, I still had a lot of empty space. I decided to add a compass. I had lots of clocks and gears to represent time, but needed something for distance. A compass did the job. I used a silver Sharpie paint pen and a distress ink pen. I used the same Sharpie paint pen to colour in some stenciled gears too. There is still a lot of empty space, but I’m out of ideas for now.

2015-02-02 08.54.502015-02-02 08.55.01

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. patchesmany
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 22:37:25

    Love this page. Thanks for sharing your step by step process. It helps me learn as well as gives me ideas.

    Reply

  2. Mental Mama
    Feb 03, 2015 @ 09:35:37

    I kind of like the empty spaces, they allow a resting place for the eye after taking in all of the detail you’ve included. It’s a beautiful piece.

    Reply

  3. Carrie Lynn
    Feb 04, 2015 @ 05:49:02

    Thanks for sharing your process especially with using gelatos, I have not use mine yet, will get gel medium first. 🙂 I love the steampunkness of the whole page. Yes for the vintage look!

    Reply

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

