J52: Haphazard Valentine

Journal52 2015, Week 7

Prompt: Valentines

I skipped week 6 for J52. I’ll try to come back to it later. This page started out a little differently. A couple weeks ago, while I was in Toronto, I bought some new art supplies. I decided to use a blank page in my journal to try them out. I was staying at my aunt’s place in Toronto. She is an artsy, crafty type person too and she has all kinds of supplies. She even has a whole room just for arts and crafts. I am so envious!! Anyway, she was kind enough to let me use some of her stuff. I tried some stencils and stamps and I experimented with Distress Ink.

2015-02-12 15.28.28

The experiment page came out a mess. It was mostly pink with smudged stamps and blobs of gesso and gel medium everywhere. It didn’t really matter though, it was meant for experimenting. Then, this Valentines prompt came up. I figured the page was already pink, so why not. I scribbled on some hearts and lines with various colours of gelatos. I found a quotes about love from Charles Shultz that wasn’t too mushy, so I went with that. I cut out some chocolate from a magazine to go with it. I muted the bright colours on the page with watered down white gesso. Once that dried, I added some black pastel to the hearts for depth and I wrote the quote with a Signo Uniball pen.

2015-02-20 17.44.10 2015-02-20 17.44.03 2015-02-20 17.43.39 2015-02-20 17.43.57

There is my haphazard valentine.

2015-02-20 17.43.31

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. clare
    Feb 22, 2015 @ 14:42:09

    This turned out beautiful!

    Reply

  2. trentpmcd
    Feb 22, 2015 @ 14:53:24

    Love the final page.

    Reply

  3. sparklesanddarkness
    Feb 22, 2015 @ 17:00:14

    Love the butterflies! I am huge fan of butterflies!! BEAUTIFUL!

    Reply

  4. Carrie Lynn
    Feb 25, 2015 @ 06:33:56

    love makes the world go round but chocolate makes it a lot more livable. love your page and its wonderful how you turn your perceived disasters as something you can be proud of. way to go sistah!

    Reply

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

