DLP6: Don’t Stop Until You Get Enough

The Documented Life Project 2015 – Journal
For more information and inspiration visit the girls at Art to the 5th

Art Challenge: When Not to Stop
Prompt: “Don’t Stop Until You Get Enough”

This challenge was posted on Art to the 5th on February 7th. I’m about a month behind. At least being so far behind, I’ll never run out of journal prompts!

The prompt is from a Michael Jackson song. Do you remember where you were or what you were doing when he died? I was downtown. My friend and I had just gotten caught in a torrential down pour. We ran into a Ben & Jerry’s to wait out the rain, but it was too late, we were soaked. There were two girls working behind the counter. One girl was crying, the other comforting her. The second girl explained to us that the first girl was fine, just a big fan. When we looked clueless, she explained that Michael Jackson had died.

2015-02-21 19.54.44

Anyway, I wasn’t going to do an art journal page on Michael Jackson, I wasn’t THAT big a fan. “Don’t stop until you get enough” made me think about school/work. I have definitely had enough of that! Why do I keep going? It’s because I haven’t got enough knowledge, I haven’t done enough learning. I don’t think you can ever get enough learning. There is always something you didn’t know, something you can improve upon….in my opinion at least. School/work and my pursuit of knowledge is represented by the eye chart (Ph.D. candidate in low vision). I scribbled other things around the page that I thought I could never get enough of; spirit, worth, motivation, love, joy, inspiration, kindness, passion, freedom, friendship and laughter.

This challenge was about layers which is something I haven’t done very much of in the past. A lot of people use old book pages. I didn’t have any books I was willing to sacrifice though. Instead, I tore recipe instructions out of magazines for the first layer. I shredded the pages into chunks and strips. I used gel medium to glue them willy-nilly all over the two-page spread. Any areas that weren’t covered I filled with lines or really sloppy handwriting.

The next layer was white gesso. I made it a thin layer so you could still see the recipe print and my chicken scratch through it. On top of that, I used blue craft paint and a stencil by Dylusions. The next layer was a variety of brown pigmented water colours. I added some stamps; clocks and keys with brown ink, but they mostly smudged off as I worked. The Snellen Eye Chart Stencil is by Tim Holtz. I stippled black gesso over it with a fat paint brush.

2015-02-21 19.54.52

I wanted the images of the stamps to stay put. I thought maybe if I painted over everything with gel medium, they’d stay. It worked! From there I got out a bronze metallic Sharpie and and a gold Sharpie paint pen to do some doodles. Finally, I wrote the prompt in black Sharpie paint pen and doodle highlights on the letters with a blue paint pen.

2015-02-21 19.54.37

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carrie Lynn
    Feb 27, 2015 @ 11:21:07

    Wonderful page! Already so many layers in it!

    Reply

  2. Mental Mama
    Feb 27, 2015 @ 14:45:55

    I understand about not having enough knowledge yet. I have one Master’s degree, about to finish a graduate certificate, supposed to start the next in August, and seriously contemplating a PhD program. Oh yeah, been there. 🙂

    Reply

    • somberscribbler
      Feb 27, 2015 @ 15:16:57

      I have a graduate diploma, is that the same as a graduate certificate?
      People think I’m crazy. Sometimes I think I am too. I suppose there are other ways to learn. If I’m not learning, I get bored. It’s a requirement for me.

      Reply

      • Mental Mama
        Feb 27, 2015 @ 18:07:16

        I’m not sure, to be honest. The certificate here indicates that I’ve taken 15 credit hours (5 classes) at a graduate level that are tied together by a theme. This one is in technical communication and the other I’m contemplating is in advanced writing. Does that help?

        I’m with you about getting bored. If I don’t have enough to do, I get into trouble. 🙂

      • somberscribbler
        Feb 27, 2015 @ 18:16:01

        Yea, that helped. Diploma and certificate are different. My diploma was one year, full-time and had a research component. I think it was 30 credits.

      • Mental Mama
        Feb 27, 2015 @ 21:24:21

        That would be closer to our Master’s degree. For me to the English Master’s program I was contemplating I’d need 30 hours of course work, 6 hours of thesis (big ol’ research paper), plus I’d have to sit for comprehensive exams. And it wouldn’t really do anything to advance my career. So I’m planning to do the 2 certificates instead.

      • somberscribbler
        Feb 27, 2015 @ 21:36:07

        It is probably better to have the variety with the certificates than specializing too much.

      • Mental Mama
        Feb 27, 2015 @ 21:40:59

        That’s what I’m thinking. I wouldn’t mind doing a PhD, but I haven’t come across anything offered where I work that sounds interesting enough. And I certainly don’t want to have to take out any more student loans.

      • somberscribbler
        Feb 27, 2015 @ 21:44:46

        Good choice. You can’t do a Ph.D. in just anything, it has to be a huge part of your life.

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

