2015AP: Hindsight

This page gets me completely caught up with the 2015 Art Project. For Week 7 there were two options. The first was to do something representing your journey so far and how you are now looking towards the future. The second was to do something about hindsight. I went with the latter. It reminded me of an Irish Proverb I really like…

2015-03-07 21.46.58

I drew a girl looking over her shoulder to represent hindsight. It has to do with looking back and understanding an event after it has happened. I used Neocolor II on the girl and outlined her with gel pens. I decided I wanted to use one of my Steampunk gelatos in the background. Gelatos spread a lot better over gesso than over plain paper so I gesso’d around the figure before applying my gelato.

2015-03-07 21.46.51

I got a little stuck here. I tried to do border since I hadn’t tried that yet. I used a stencil and a brown Neocolor II crayon. I activated the pigment with water afterwards to smooth it out. It just ended up kind of messy looking. I filled the background using a “Once Upon A Time..” stamp and steampunk stamps; cogs, binoculars and a compass. I did a layer with brown ink to make the background less plain. I did a few of those in black in addition to a few feathers and a butterfly.

2015-03-07 21.47.142015-03-07 21.47.24

At the end, I put some washi tape strips in to occupy empty space. I used some lacy ones and some steampunk ones with cogs and clocks on them.

2015-03-07 21.47.34

Here is the whole thing…

2015-03-07 21.46.42

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carrie Lynn
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 10:23:18

    Great take on the challenge! Love your calligraphy. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. James Dunn -- Coffee and Countries
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 10:38:30

    The compass and cogs are just stunning.

    Reply

  3. trentpmcd
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 10:39:39

    I like the picture. Looks like you’re trying to work away from “cute cartoon”.

    Reply

  4. NotAPunkRocker
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 12:18:32

    I love the way you interpreted it and the small details. Well done!

    Reply

  5. Mental Mama
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 12:30:24

    Your lettering is always so lovely. This is a beautiful piece.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Just Seeing Whose Seeing | Trent's World (the Blog)
  7. therabbitholez
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 16:32:06

    I like it, and the steampunk element was inspired, great quote, it resonates with me, it’s always about moving forward and being present in the now, as you cannot change what’s already happened.

    Reply

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

