A to Z Theme Reveal

It’s that time of year again!! A to Z is just over a week away and today is theme reveal day. I found out about A to Z the day it started last year. I was a new blogger and thought it was a good way to meet people, so I jumped in. It was a lot of fun and I met wonderful people who are still my bloggy friends today. I did make it to the end, but not without some struggle.

survivor-atoz [2014]

Writing a post every day is not easy and some letters are really hard to write about! This year, I decided to plan ahead. I would research topics and write posts ahead of time. Have I done that? No. Life has inevitably gotten in the way. I will be flying by the seat of pants through A to Z for another year. My theme this year is….

Mental Health

I know, I know, I did the same theme last year. I’m giving myself a real challenge though. I’m not going to reuse anything I did last year. Eeek!! My stomach is doing flips just trying to imagine what I’m going to write about for Q, X and Y!

Why write about mental health? Well, because it is important, duh!! Everyone at some point in life experiences problems with mental health. It can be anything from stress or low self-esteem to psychosis or suicide. The more we talk about it, the more we all understand and the better we relate to each other. The best way to eradicate mental health stigma is through education.

Now, I am not a mental health professional, or a doctor of any sort. Well, maybe that’s not true. I am an almost doctor…a Ph.D. candidate, but I study eyes, not mental health. That is beside the point though. I have experience with mental health. I have a variety of diagnoses, but to make a long story short, I have depression or Major Depressive Disorder (MDD), if you want to be formal. I have had signs and symptoms since childhood and have been getting treatment for the last 9 years. The plan for A to Z is to share my experience with mental health and what I have learned. You may laugh, you may cry, but you’ll be entertained and you’ll learn something. I think that is the most important part. 🙂

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Princess of Dragons
    Mar 23, 2015 @ 08:25:33

    Love the challenge you’ve set yourself this year! It was something I contemplated doing for my theme, but I honestly don’t think I could find another 26 letters on dragons when I’ve done so much between last year’s a to z and the year since!

    I really look forward to coming back daily and seeing what you are writing about, because as you say, mental health is really important, and I always tend to like what you write anyway.

    Reply

  2. Carrie Lynn
    Mar 23, 2015 @ 09:44:32

    this will be so informative! i think it will be much easier to learn about mental health in a daily basis through a to z.

    Reply

  3. NotAPunkRocker
    Mar 23, 2015 @ 11:48:59

    Awesome that you are planning on not repeating anything from last year. You got this! 😀

    Reply

  4. Mental Mama
    Mar 23, 2015 @ 12:10:50

    This is a great platform to help bust some of the stigma we face and spread the word. I can’t wait to see what you have to say! 🙂

    Reply

  5. CA Heaven
    Mar 23, 2015 @ 18:13:55

    Interesting theme. I have some depressions from time to time too. And I have a PhD (in geophysics). Maybe that’s what causes it >:)

    Reply

  6. therabbitholez
    Mar 23, 2015 @ 18:59:58

    I would have chosen the same subject, but a thought just came to me on what I could do, another area of life that carries much stigma, thanks you’ve inspired me:)

    Reply

  7. Sanch @ Living my Imperfect Life
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 07:20:58

    Looking forward to your posts — when I was thinking of themes, mental health was on my list as I’m very passionate about it. In the end, I decided to go with something else but am still considering this topic for next year. Good luck! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Kay
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 11:26:55

    A great theme, I think anything that raises awareness of mental health and other issues is hugely important! Good luck for April 🙂

    Reply

  9. Chrys Fey
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 16:34:35

    Information on mental health is always good. Good luck! 🙂

    -Chrys Fey
    Tremp’s Troops – A to Z Co-co-host

    Reply

Talk to me!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Somber Scribbler on WordPress.com

Archives

